Which EU Countries Use the Euro?

euro currency is used by 19 eu countries


Out of Europe’s 50 countries, 28 are part of the European Union, but not all of them have signed on to the euro, the common currency. Here’s a list of the 19 countries that use the euro, and the ones that don’t. Wherever you’re traveling in Europe, you can get local currency from the ATM. Don’t forget to tell your bank you’re traveling, or they might freeze your card when you try to withdraw cash.


EU countries that use the euro 

• Austria

• Belgium

• Cyprus

• Estonia

• Finland

• France

• Germany

• Greece

• Ireland

• Italy

• Latvia

• Lithuania

• Luxembourg

• Malta

• the Netherlands

• Portugal

• Slovakia

• Slovenia

• Spain


EU countries that do not use the euro 

• Bulgaria

• Croatia

• Czech Republic

• Denmark

• Hungary

• Poland

• Romania

• Sweden

• United Kingdom



If you found this article useful, please share it, and subscribe to the Postcard Academy podcast. Each week, expats and adventurers share their insider travel tips on the best food, nightlife, and cultural experiences in the most interesting places around the globe. I’m your host, Sarah Mikutel, an American who's spent the last 7 years living in, and traveling around, Europe.